Not Forgetting Rainbows

When I first moved down to Florida, I had a pivotal encounter with a rainbow. Where was I?

I was driving back from yet another unsuccessful job interview…

I was concerned about my savings diminishing and my debt climbing…

I was wounded from arguing with my mother daily about my “coming back home”…

I was lonely since I had not made any friends and missed my siblings terribly…

I was hurt by God’s silence after having been so obedient to His call…

And on that Floridian hot-as-Hades mid-summer day, I was driving with the windows down so I wouldn’t have to run the A/C. Then, a torrential downpour came through. My immediate thought: “Oh come on, God! You have got to be kidding me!” Seriously, this had all the makings for a sappy scene in one of those predictable movies. The Truman Show, anyone? I maneuvered my SUV (windows up, A/C intermittently running) begrudgingly down Okeechobee; questioning God, questioning my purpose in Florida, questioning my obedience. But as I made my left to head south on 441, I encountered the largest, brightest, most beautiful rainbow I had ever seen.

I was suddenly reminded of God’s covenant with me as His daughter…

I was moved to tears…

Since then, I have seen many rainbows in my three years of Florida living. Some even brighter and fuller than my first. They always remind of that encounter; and they always remind me of God’s covenant. This morning was no different. However, as I quickly made note of the rainbow outside the car window, I came to the realization that my reaction was not the same. I was once again reminded, but I was not moved. This sad reality sent me into a feverish prayer. “Please, God,” I begged, “don’t let my heart become so familiar to your wonders that it grows calloused and unfazed!”

As I drove the fifteen or so minutes home… I encountered two more rainbows.

2 thoughts on “Not Forgetting Rainbows

  1. Hi,

    I’m Hazel Jones and I work in a company interested in blog advertising. I found your blog engaging and I’m contacting you to ask if you are interested in blog post sponsorship.

    If you are interested, kindly mail back and I’ll send you back pricing details, guidelines and processes. Looking forward to doing business with you.

    Sincerely,

    Hazel Jones

Leave a Reply

