The Single Girl and the Yuppy Puppy

If you know anything about me, you know these two things: I can be brutally honest and I’m a “bit” of a aesthetics diva. Just a bit. You will, therefore, be unphased by the fact that as a single girl, I am my spoiled child and pampered husband… and admit it shamelessly. I like the finer, fashionable things in life (especially at a discount). Shopping is indeed my therapy. Shoes do make me gloriously happy. I do not skimp on natural hair care products. I liberally devote time to bring my catalog taste to life. And, lest you think I’m entirely selfish, I get equally excited spoiling friends and loved ones with a pair or set of their own. 

So, I was quite shocked today by my own fleeting thought. I originally entered Home Goods in search of hand soap for the bathrooms, and possibly a food bowl on clearance for Oreo. Orange-scented soap makes me happy and it had been some time since I depleted my home supply. Ten minutes later, I was still mindlessly browsing the aisles, passing the time between appointments by checking out the pet section.

Suddenly there it was, the most adorable doggy rain coat! With a hood! And on CLEARANCE! “Oreo does so hate getting wet!” My immediate thought.  Fortunately, reason kicked in – before psychotic madness took over – to remind me that I was on a budget. And just like that, the thought that knocked this girl frighteningly out of her heels and into a single-no-more daze, “I could leave the hand soaps to buy him the rain coat”. What!? Excuse me? No. Seriously. Excuse ME!? Um, no. This was getting ridiculous! The last five pictures on my phone are of my puppy. My last few conversations have somehow included something about what my dog is doing. And now this. Was I becoming like one of those parents who want to give you a play-by-play of their child!? Gasp!

Coat, back on the shelf. Single girl, out.

One thought on “The Single Girl and the Yuppy Puppy

Leave a Reply

