A Journal of Special Parchment Made

August 20, 2011
I wake up to Rita Springer singing:

“No eye has ever seen/ no ear has ever heard/ The things You’re planning, Lord/ The things You’re doing for all who believe/ No mind can comprehend this deepest mystery/ But I hear You speak again, I think I’ll trust again/ I believe .”

I get dressed, drive to Ink Link, and in less than 25 minutes walk out with this:
image

This is the day after my last day at work. A job I had been faithfully working at for five-and-a-half years. A job I had been “leaving” for over one year but was too afraid because, after all, it wasn’t logical to quit in these economic times. And as a fairly logical person, it seemed rather reckless. But, I took the giant step for mankind into the unknown – believing that God is sovereign. He only requires my obedience.

October 29, 2012
In this past year, I have done a number of things, pursued and buried various passions, and cried many tears. But, I have been continuously encouraged by the prophet Habakkuk’s song of praise in the face of impending devastation. So I sang, and I prayed, and I reminded myself of why I got that tattoo. I learned and re-learned to believe. And now, my waiting is over and my obedience is granted comprehension.

November 4, 2012,
What a whirlwind week. So much to learn! Again! It seems fitting to successfully close the first week at my new job with an entry.
image

Though the fig tree should not blossom and there be no fruit on the vines,
Though the yield of the olive should fail and the fields produce no food,
Though the flock should be cut off from the fold and there be no cattle in the stalls,
Yet I will exult in the LORD, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.
The Lord GOD is my strength, and He has made my feet like hinds’ feet, and makes me walk on my high places.
” Habakkuk 3:17-19

Leave a Reply

