Somewhat of a Routine

This is a quick post in answer to a question by dallernaturel.wordpress.com. Instead of posting a long response with lots of links, I decided to just create a quick blog post. The original question is posted below:

“Hi, nice blog you have here! How do you like your color so far? I’m thinking about putting in some ombre to add some dynamics to my curls. But since I’ve never dyed my hair before, I’m a little apprehensive of the upkeep. How do you maintain moisture? And do you find that you have to alter your wash day routine by much?”

Ok, I don’t honestly have a “routine”. It really depends on what I’m in the mood for, what I want my hair to look like the next day, how late it is, whether I’m working out or not the next morning, etc. And I find that I switch products a lot. I buy something, use it, love it or hate it, and then decide to try something else. But to answer your question in the most helpful way, this is what I’ve been doing fairly consistently for the last 2-2.5 months (especially since coloring my hair).

1. Co-wash only. I got the Curly Girl book by Lorraine Massey from the library and started trying some of her methods, one of which was no shampoo. So I purchased an organic sulfate-free, paraben-free conditioner from Whole Foods. You can get what you prefer, I like Nature’s Gate Hemp.

2. I picked a deep conditioning method that I would do at least 2x a week. As I mentioned in my previous response, I was initially obsessive about this, but have become more lenient. Basically, I part my hair into sections and saturate each section with conditioner; cover it with a plastic cap for an hour or more; rinse; apply cold aloe vera juice; style as usual. I love Naptural85’s videos and subscribe to her channel. WARNING: She has lots of videos and tends to use a lot of different products. I use her videos as a guide and I modify based on my budget and time. You’ll find also that she goes through phases, at times being super-natural and at other times is not so strict.

3. Almost Daily Moisturizer. I love this stuff! It does have a “greasy” feel if you use too much, but it keeps my hair shiny and soft and you basically have to wash it out.

4. Nightly conditioner – Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle: AH-MAY-ZING! It’s not strictly natural/organic/whatever, but I seriously love this stuff. And since it’s considerably cheaper than my other conditioner, I don’t mind using it all the time. Seriously defined twist-outs. Soft manageable wash-n-go hair.

As I said in my previous response, I love my hair! I first did the ombre with L’Oreal #030. It was marketed as being safer for untreated hair (which mine was). I knew it wasn’t the end result I wanted, but I was hesitant about bleaching my hair, plus I really wanted a multi-tone look. I waited two weeks and then had a professional (Adrianne) add the highlights that I wanted. As a result, I have about 7 different shades in my hair and I absolutely love it. Check out “a love affair” for the final color. I was concerned about the ends being dry and brittle after dyeing, it’s actually grown a lot and I haven’t had any issues with it breaking or being dry.

OK, I think I gave you more information than you wanted, but sharing is caring :-). And I’m enjoying the multitude of wonderful distractions on your page.

One thought on “Somewhat of a Routine

  1. Thank you! I really appreciate you taking the time to write this out. That was extremely helpful and informative. I think I’m going to try L’oreal #040. I want my hair to gradually fade into a golden brown. Glad you’re enjoying my page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

