Traditions

image

The saying goes, and I paraphrase, “Haitians dress for church as if attending a wedding and they dress for a wedding as if meeting the queen”. And just in case that expectation wasn’t high enough, Haitian tradition says you must take your style up a notch and look your best on the first Sunday of the year. Why? Because it will effect all the other Sundays of the year. And if you mess up First Sunday, you will spend the year making up for it.

It is with that in mind, I had a mini panic attack on Saturday evening. This holiday season, I didn’t go home. Which means I missed out on a number of traditions – cultural and familial. I didn’t drink any cremas. I didn’t eat any soup. I didn’t get to participate in the the gift exchange or watch the late night Christmas movie. I didn’t get to open one of my mom’s special cards. And although I missed all of these traditions, I still had a lovely holiday making new memories and learning new traditions.

Last night, however, standing in my closet, I had moment of dread when I realized I didn’t have anything planned for First Sunday. How could I have let this happen?! When I shared this with my family, they laughed at me, with good reason. In the grand scheme of life, there were so much more important things going on… blogs to follow. But I guess, no matter how much things change, some traditions (silly or not) stay the same. And even with their pressures, they bring a bit of normalcy to an ever crazy world.

~that’s life… in no particular order

Leave a Reply

